Artist’s words immortalized on memorial for wounded vets

http://goo.gl/ERSwKp

On Sunday, Naranjo was one of more than 3,000 people, including many veterans, who attended the dedication ceremony of the American Veterans Disabled for Life Memorial, a monument of granite and glass with a five-point-star-shaped fountain (representing five branches of the military) that was erected close to the U.S. Capitol in Washington, D.C.

One wall of the monument features 18 quotes from veterans. Among them is this thought from Naranjo: “When you’re young, you’re invincible. You’re immortal. I thought I’d come back. Perhaps I wouldn’t, there was that thought, too, but I had this feeling that I would come back. Underneath that feeling, there was another, that maybe I wouldn’t be quite the same, but I felt I’d make it back.”