DDD: Living with Depersonalization Derealization Disorder

https://goo.gl/2c64UZ

First, a quick caveat: I am not a physician, nor counselor or psychologist, and this article deals with my personal experiences with DDD and finding treatment. Consult with your own doctor or care provider if you are in need of professional help.

If I had to pick the most impactful moment of my life thus far, developing Depersonalization-Derealization Disorder (DDD) would unfortunately be the first on my list. Having lived with the disorder for a bit over a year now, one of the most frustrating aspects of this disorder is the relative invisibility and lack of attention it has garnered thus far, both in the general public and in medical communities. It’s time to change this.

This article is meant to be an overview of DDD from a non-professional point of view. It’s intended both for people who think they may suffer from the disorder, and for people who want to expand their awareness about mental health in general. Half of the article (Defining DDD and Living with DDD) is directed at those suffering from dissociative disorders, and half (Describing DDD and Helping with DDD) is intended for a broader audience that want a better understanding of what it’s like to live with, and how to support others.

Go brew yourself a cup of tea (I’m sipping peppermint tea as I write this), because there are a lot of definitions and examples coming up. I promise it’s worth it in the long term.

Ready? Let’s go.