Fishing as Therapy

Mr. Fishing, Tom B. taught me that fishing was therapy....

https://abilitymagazine.com/fishing-is-therapy/

The road to Freedom began in 1967 in the central highlands of Vietnam. A predawn attack by the North Vietnamese left me with a paralyzed right arm, and a 60% paralyzed right leg. I was unable to speak, and suffering from PTSD that wouldn’t be diagnosed until 2015. I was medevacked from Vietnam to Japan and finally to Letterman’s General Hospital in San Francisco where I ended my Army career at 19.

My wife and I moved to Seattle in 2005 where I became interested in fishing. There was something about being on the water that was peaceful and relaxing to me; fishing was as good of a reason as any to be out. Fishing with one arm can be a stressful experience, trying to manage the rod while reeling in a fish can be terrifying. If you hook a big enough fish it can be expensive as you rod is pulled over the side of the boat. I soon discovered that I needed a rod holder to manage the rod while I managed the fish. There were no rod holders on the market that I could find that would meet my needs. The decision to make my own equipment was an easy one to make.

Lucky for me, my dad was a DIY kinda guy and he taught me all about how things worked. It didn’t take long before we had a successful design, we called the Barracuda. The Barracuda met all the requirements we had for fishing. It worked so well that my wife and I decided to make it available to others that had a similar disability