How Sobriety Changed Me

https://goo.gl/1wpKMu

It’s been over two and a half years since I had my last drink. The decision to quit drinking was not an easy one, but nothing worth doing is ever easy.

For the first two years I spent quite a bit of time thinking about how different my life was. Every six months or so I would sit down and write about what I was going through, both as a cathartic thought experiment, but also as a way to connect with other people going through the same thing in their lives.

It has been unbelievably rewarding. At first it was terrifying (as all good things are) to expose my weaknesses to strangers. After a while it became helpful. People are remarkably understanding and people want to help. People want to build communities around you and want you to build communities around them.

If there is one thing we all have in common it is certainly imperfection.