Human rights report calls for new approach to tackle violence against people with disabilities

https://ab.co/2L1SFQV

When Nicole Lee's husband was removed from her home after she disclosed a decade of abuse to hospital staff following a suicide attempt, it took her eight weeks to get a shower.

"I had a 10-year, very violent relationship with my ex-husband who was also my disability carer," Ms Lee said.

"That day when the police decided to put an intervention order on him and remove him from the house, I was sent home on my own without anyone considering how I was going to cope."

When Nicole Lee's husband was removed from her home after she disclosed a decade of abuse to hospital staff following a suicide attempt, it took her eight weeks to get a shower.

"I had a 10-year, very violent relationship with my ex-husband who was also my disability carer," Ms Lee said.

"That day when the police decided to put an intervention order on him and remove him from the house, I was sent home on my own without anyone considering how I was going to cope."I

Almost two months later and feeling lost with who to turn to for support, Ms Lee said she approached child protection services to help lift the intervention order, inviting her husband to re-enter her home.