Mental illness can be a source of strength: An interview with Andy Imparato

http://goo.gl/mHghRm

RFF: You’ve been very open about your bipolar disorder. How did that come about?

Andy: It was really helpful to be around people with both obvious and not so obvious disabilities. I had role models who were out. I was in an environment where I felt I had more to gain than to lose by being open. Being open gave me a stronger connection to my client community. Over time, I have been a strong voice for others to come out with mental illness and other non-apparent disabilities.

RFF: What do you say to others who are weighing the consequences about whether to be open?

Andy: I’m definitely an advocate for people coming out at work. I’ve learned that people are generally happier when they don’t have to worry about who knows and who doesn’t know about their diagnosis. When people are out at work they can change attitudes of others and connect with others in a deeper way. This can help both personally and professionally.

The decision is a personal one, and can depend on where you are in your career and the nature of your job and your disability. Some people don’t need an accommodation from day one so don’t feel the need to come out until they have already established themselves as a valuable worker. There are studies that suggest that many employers will weed out people with disabilities, especially mental illness. So some people may be rightfully concerned, particularly early on in their careers when they are just developing a resume.

Another challenge is that many mental health professionals advise against being open.

I realize that my positive experiences may not be easily replicated—not everyone has really strong academic credentials or chooses to work in the disability field—but I still think that in most cases there are more pros than cons to being out with your disability.

At the end of the day, people will be more likely to come out if their work culture encourages it. So there’s much work to be done in creating more inclusive work cultures.