My PTSD Was Not Caused on the Battlefield

http://bit.ly/2rMz6jI

Breaking the Silence Against Domestic Violence

Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) is a serious condition that most people associate with soldiers on the battlefield and war veterans. This is particularly true in my hometown of San Diego, which has the nation’s largest population of military personnel and nearly 25,000 veterans receiving care for PTSD (from 2010-2016). However, few people are aware that PTSD is prevalent among victims of domestic violence. In fact, a study found that up to 88 percent of women living in domestic violence shelters have PTSD. Often, the trauma is as severe as military combat.

My name is Dovie Yoana King, and I am a survivor of domestic violence living with PTSD. I am also a victim’s rights pro bono attorney, single mother and local elected official. As we approach PTSD Awareness Month in June, I hope to get an early start in giving voice to other survivors of domestic violence who live with the invisible scars caused by this silent epidemic.