Part 1: The Development of WRAP | Mad In America

I wish that everyone knew about WRAP (Wellness Recovery Action Plan).  It has been helpful to so many people.  The research has proved that it helps people to feel better and move on with their lives.  The problem is, far too few people know about.  I do the best I can to network it, and I now have lots and lots of people helping me.  But it is not enough.  Kids should know about WRAP, or how to take care of themselves from childhood.  Adults need to learn how to do the same thing.  It is my wish that when someone starts to feel badly, they look at the resources they have and figure out how to help themselves feel better.  If they reach out to an agency, or even a doctor for help, the help begins by working the person, step-by-step through the non-invasive, self-determined and empowering WRAP process.  The first questions should be about what the person knows help them to feel better.