Self-Harming Behaviors: We All Struggle With Them

http://goo.gl/LfH6i

If you admitted that you have bitten your nails or picked a few scabs here and there, you now have admitted to being human. We all do these things without realizing it and it does not make us bad people. When it comes to self-harmers, this is how it feels when they cut their wrists or burn their thighs. It does not seem like a big deal to them. The difference between these self-harming behaviors is the emotions linked to them.

When I would cut myself, I did it because an emotion was so strong it was forcing my body into a shock, of sorts. I couldn’t stop the anger from screaming inside my head, telling me to cut because it would make me feel better. When you’re a self-harmer, you have a hard time deciphering right versus wrong and usually that little devil sitting on your shoulder wins.