The stigma we don’t like to talk about

https://goo.gl/oWMyl3

According to the US Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statisticsthere are just over 550k mental health workers whose primary focus is the treatment and/or diagnosis of mental health or substance abuse concerns.

That’s exciting to me. I am glad to be reminded that there are people out there caring about this population and pursuing their career in this field. Along with that, about 1 in 5 Americans suffer from mental illness in a given year. Let me say that again — About 20% of people will suffer from something like depression, bipolar, or some other mental disorder this next year.

When I read stats like that, I’m astounded. I don’t think people realize how prevalent mental illness is today. There are so many other statistics I could go over that might blow your mind.

Some would include rates like the 26% of homeless adults staying in shelters who suffer from a severe mental illness. Or how about mood disorders like depression or bipolar being the third highest cause of hospitalization in the U.S. for people aged 18–44. Poverty is another close link to mental illness that only perpetuates the stigma attached to these individuals.