"The Trauma Treatment Handbook: Protocols Across the Spectrum" by Robin Shapiro - Lothlórien

The book starts out with a very good explanation of trauma and dissociation. She describes dissociation so well and eloquently that I have never read a better description (and I have read a lot!). After that she writes about different treatment options which I found very interesting. As a social worker to be, I was struck by the sheer number of options that you could use depending on your particular client's strengths, interests, issues, etc. It blew my mind! As a survivor myself, it opened my eyes to various options and which ones I find have been most helpful for me, least helpful, and ones which I might want to try. The other thing that struck me, as an MSW student is that I had done a paper on EMDR, and many of the other therapies that were described had aspects in common with EMDR such as bilateral stimulation, titrated exposure, CBT elements similar to those used in EMDR, etc. Each mode of therapy is also followed up with a list of resources, so if you have interest in a particular one, you can find more to read on it through her resources. Excellent, excellent, excellent!!!