Trauma-informed reader response to the ill-informed article, “Publicly We Say #MeToo. Privately We Have Misgivings.”

https://goo.gl/XLN6rD

I have wanted to write about the missing voices from the “me too” movement for a while now, but have not due to a host of reasons (lack of time, insecurity about my writing, fear of people’s responses, etc.) However, The New York Times Magazine contributing writer, Daphne Merkin, has expressed an opinion that likely is held by many, and it’s an opinion that I believe should not go without being appropriately challenged (read the article here: https://www.nytimes.com/2018/01/05/opinion/golden-globes-metoo.html). Aside from Merkins’ self-proclaimed sample size lacking all diversity aside from age, “The women I know — of all ages”, Merkin seems to lack any sort of a trauma informed opinion, which is an incredibly dangerous and ignorant thing to do when discussing such a traumatic topic. My intention for the rest of my response is to illustrate two things:

1. The host of female voices that are inherently missed in an internet-based movement.

2. The incredible necessity of understanding the neuroscience of trauma and abuse when discussing sexual assault, abuse and harassment.