When Physical Illness and PTSD Triggers Collide

http://goo.gl/EhaZp1

There were steps that my husband and I took that reduced some of the frustration around my mental health triggers:

1. Let your care team know that you deal with depression or other psychological condition and if you have known mental health triggers and how those might play out in your responses. This includes every medical person who might touch you. That self-advocacy goes a long way to keep you from experiencing unnecessary trauma.

2. Keep a current medication list in a document and have copies available when you go to the doctor or hospital. If you are unable to communicate, they can look at and input information from that document. I couldn’t speak because I was coughing and wheezing too badly. There were questions that my husband could answer and others that he didn’t know the answers to.....